Fancy Oatmeal

13493363_10153666173802197_1064911551_o

I will admit that I am a big fan of McDonald’s oatmeal. I love all the little packages, the fruit, and the fun of putting it together. It certainly inspired me a few years ago to start making my own fancy oatmeal at home.

I start by heating up some milk (almond is fantastic, but low fat cow’s milk is fine too), once it is almost at a simmer I add in the oatmeal – I like bob’s red mill steel cut, and since I like my oatmeal on the creamier side, I use just over one and a half cups of milk to 3/4 cup oatmeal. I let this simmer with a pinch of sea salt while I get all my other ingredients ready.

13460831_10153666173752197_2145226967_o

I chop up an apple and a banana, and when the oatmeal is just about done, throw in a handful of raisins (dried blueberries are delicious too). I then turn the oatmeal off, add in a spoon of brown sugar per person, a splash of vanilla, and a small pat of butter (or margarine, or coconut oil, whatever you like). This gets divided between 2 bowls, and topped with the fresh fruit.

Since oatmeal is a blank slate, you can really get creative here. Sometimes I drizzle with maple syrup, you can top it with nuts, some granola, coconut, whatever catches your fancy. I like the crunch of the apple with the softness of the banana, the creaminess of the oatmeal and the sweetness of the raisins.

Once you make this, you will drive right by McDonalds!

 

Leave a Reply

