Meal for a man

If you want to make a meal for a man, you can’t go wrong with steak and potatoes.
With Father’s Day here, I went shopping for steak. They were all crazy expensive, so I chose an economical cut of marinating steak. Costco packages 2 together for around $20. One can easily feed 4-6 hungry people, or 2 for dinner and a week’s leftovers for salads and grilled sandwiches.
I put each one in a Ziploc bag, made the marinade below and split it between the steaks. One went into the fridge, the other into the freezer.

Marinated Flank Steak

  • 1 cup (250 mL) red wine vinegar
  • ¼ cup (125 mL) soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp (30 mL) Dijon mustard
  • 6 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3 sprig fresh rosemary – I used good quality dried cracked Rosemary today
  • 2 Tbsp (30 mL) olive oil
  • 2 lb(s) beef flank steak

Coarse salt and cracked black pepper after steak has been BBQ, rested and sliced.

I used metal skewers to make mini potato and prosciutto skewers (I splurged on thick cut Italian prosciutto), that I served with a lemon dill dip, as well as garlic butter portobello mushroom caps.

I guarantee there will be sounds of pleasure emanating from any males at your dinner table. And for the slam dunk? Homemade brownies with vanilla ice cream. He did the dishes tonight before I even got up from the table.

Leave a Reply

