Scrambled Eggless Wrap

On Sunday morning I told my husband I would make him some scrambled eggs and decided to test out this recipe from one of my favourite vegan bloggers, The Edgy Veg.  I ended up modifying her recipe a little to suit our tastes, the modified version is what is pictured here inside my wrap, as well as detailed in the recipe below.  As the ‘eggs’ were cooking (and looking amazing) I asked husband if he would like to try a vegan breakfast wrap instead of the 4 eggs I would have made him.  He bravely tried the tofu concoction and even asked for seconds!  I can’t say enough about how much I love this recipe.  The texture, taste, and smell were fantastic, and for bonus points I reheated the leftovers for dinner tonight and they were even better – scrambled eggs have never preformed like that!

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 package extra-firm tofu
  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 pinch turmeric (for colour)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • ½ tsp pepper, and to taste
  • ¼ -1/2 cup water
  • 2 tsp Sirracha 

Directions

Heat a tsp of coconut oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Saute onion until translucent. Crumble the tofu into the pan and cook for another 3-5 minutes. In a small bowl combine nutritional yeast, garlic powder, turmeric, salt and pepper with enough water to make a sauce.  Stir well to get out lumps and immediately pour the sauce mixture onto your tofu and stir frequently until the liquid has evaporated (1-2 minutes).  Stir in 2 tsp of Sirracha.


Our breakfast wraps also had spinach, tomato, avocado, and mushrooms.  I grilled them on our panini press and they were awesome!


4 thoughts on “Scrambled Eggless Wrap

Leave a Reply

