Marinated Mushrooms

This may come as a shock but I am not a big fan of mushrooms. Growing up the only mushrooms we ate were marinated ones that my mom put in her salads. With a mushroom loving husband, I begrudgingly started adding mushrooms to my cooking repertoire and found that I could live with them in the dishes I made – under the right circumstances of course.

I am a big fan of the “oh she glows” cookbook by Angela Liddon, and started making her marinated mushrooms whenever I found myself with mushroom odds and ends in the fridge. I have made the recipe mine over time, and now we not only have marinated mushrooms in salads, but in wraps, as a side with BBQ, or as a snack eaten straight from the fridge (try adding them in the vegan breakfast wrap recipe posted by Pink Waders).

First get your mushrooms clean and dried off. With a little olive oil in your pan, start sautéing your aromatics over low heat. This can be onions, shallots, garlic, whatever floats your boat.

I like to use mushrooms of different sizes, and chop them into halves, quarters, slices, while leaving some whole. You can never go wrong with cremini, I used white button and portobello this time around

Once your onions have softened, add in the mushrooms. Start with the biggest pieces first, and cook for about 8 minutes until softened. During this time you can add your spices, but don’t add salt and pepper until they are all cooked.

For this batch I used Italian seasoning, thyme and oregano. Be creative, and try different combinations of herbs and spices.

Tramsfer the mushrooms to a dish, I like to use a glass canister, and add 2 TB oil (olive or any flavoured oil) to every 4 TB of vinegar (balsamic or whatever will compliment your spices).

Give it a good stir, store in the fridge, and give it a stir or shake once in a while. Let it sit for at least 12 hours – it is called marinated mushrooms for a reason.

image

 

4 thoughts on “Marinated Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

