Best Banana Bread

Everyone who ever tastes my banana bread eventually asks for the recipe, or just hint they want one every time they see me. Over the years I have tried every recipe out there, loaves, muffins, cakes, etc. But I always come back to this one. It’s easy – one bowl for dry ingredients and one for wet, then stir together. You can also add walnuts, chocolate chips, coconut, whatever you like. I like it plain, fresh out of the oven, or buttered the next day with a cup of tea. Makes your house smell amazing, and uses up those ripe bananas on the counter. Make your bread into the shape you want, just adjust your baking time. Big loaf, mini loaves, etc. bake at 350 F (or convect at 325F) until set and starting to brown.

image

Bowl for dry ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • add ins if you are using any.

Whisk all of this together.

Bowl for wet ingredients:

  • 1/4 plain yogurt (I like using Greek, but have used vanilla in a pinch)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp good vanilla

Whisk together. Poor in 6 TB melted butter – I microwave mine in a ramekin and let cool a bit. Now mash in 3-4 very ripe bananas into the ‘wet’ bowl. I like using my potato masher. You can use a fork. This is a great task to give to little helpers in the kitchen.

image

Now pour the wet ingredients into dry, stir until there are no streaks of flour. Spoon into your greased pans (I use cooking spray). One big loaf takes about 50 minutes, but it really depends on your oven and the dish you are using.

And bake!

Cool on wire racks, they will slide right out of their tins once cool enough to handle. I made 4 medium/small loaves, so that I can gift some of them to friends. Once cooled you can wrap them well and pop into the freezer.

image

And enjoy! Now wasn’t that easy?

image

Leave a Reply

