Sockeye Salmon Tacos

This is the reason I will never be able to call myself a Vegan.  I have been eating exclusively plant-based foods for the past three months but I make an exception for the salmon my husband and I catch ourselves.  For a few weeks each year the Sockeye Salmon run in a nearby river and we take our rods and fill our freezer.  One fish provides four meals and I like to eat it two or three times a month.

I love to fish and this past year I have begun to learn to fly fish which is my husband’s true passion.  This picture is the first Steelhead I caught on the fly – it’s a big milestone around here so I had to get a wick picture with him before I set him free.


Tonight I made one of my favourite ways to have Salmon – fish tacos.  This is my ‘signature dish’ and is always requested when friends come to visit.  These tacos have three main components: salmon, slaw and salsa.  Over the years I have made several variations but tonight we went with a tropical theme.

Salsa Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium pineapple diced
  • 2 mangos dices
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 medium onion diced
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp minced jalapeño  

Mix all these ingredients together and set aside.


Coleslaw Ingredients:

  • 2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot 
  • 1/2 cup mayo (I used Hellmans vegan)
  • 2tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp Sirracha 
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix the mayo, vinegar, sugar, Sirracha, salt and pepper in the bottom of the bowl.  Taste and adjust seasoning to your preference.  Add cabbage and carrots to bowl.  Toss well and set aside.

Salmon Ingredients:

  • 1/2 fillet of salmon
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Mix chili powder, lime juice and oil in a small bowl.  Rub mixture onto the Salmon filet and grill or bake until done.  Cooking time will vary depending on the filet thickness.  Don’t overcook or the salmon wil dry out.  At 400 degrees a fillet will take between 15-30 minutes – remove from oven when middle is still stiffly underdone as it will continue to cook as it rests.

Heat 6 medium tortillas (we used whole grain this time) and layer salmon, coleslaw and salsa.  These are a little messy so make sure you serve with a fork!

2 thoughts on “Sockeye Salmon Tacos

Leave a Reply

