Quick Chicken Curry

Today has been a drizzly day and I wanted a quick, comforting supper. All week I have been thinking about the lovely curry Pink Waders posted. Quite different from my normal curries -which simmer all day, usually with lamb or chicken pieces – I decided to adapt the one she made and sort of cross it with the butter chicken I learned to make in an Indian cooking class.

I took a few shortcuts – some diced chicken breast that cook up quick and some little canned potatoes – just drain and slice in half. Now don’t be shocked… They are pre-peeled and when simmered in sauce nobody will be able to tell they came from a can. And lastly some frozen spinach thawed in the microwave.

Ingredients:

  • chicken breast or thigh cut up (I used about 2 breasts)
  • olive oil
  • onions (I used a mix of red and regular cooking onions)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • grated fresh ginger (about a teaspoon or so)
  • Spices – 1/2 tsp each of cumin, coriander, turmeric
  • 1 tsp of curry powder
  • Tandoori Masala – enough for tossing with the chicken
  • Some fenugreek – 1 TB fresh or 1 tsp dried
  • About a cup of chicken broth
  • About a cup of crushed/pureed tomato (I used tomato sauce – it’s what I had on hand)
  • a sprinkle of sugar (maybe a teaspoon)
  • half a package of frozen spinach
  • 1 can drained and halved mini potatoes (or about 10 mini potatoes, peeled and halved)
  • salt and pepper
  • Sriracha for a spicy kick
  • yogurt or coconut milk for a creamy finish

I started by tossing the chicken in seasoning (I am in love with the Tandoori Masala from Silk Road Spices) and then browning it in my cast iron Dutch oven in some olive oil. Remove once browned.

image

Add in lots of chopped onion, garlic and ginger. Sauté until onion is translucent. Do this on low heat so as to not burn the garlic. Now add your spices. Stir. Add in some chicken broth to scrape up the bits in the bottom –  I use hot water and chicken broth concentrate.

image

Next add in the tomato sauce or purée. Sprinkle some sugar on top to cut the acidity. Give a good stir. Add in the chicken, spinach and potatoes. I like to throw in some fresh fenugreek, but dried will do as well. If you don’t have any, just leave it out. Simmer for 10 minutes or until your potatoes are cooked. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

When ready to serve, stir in some plain yogurt, or canned coconut milk. This can be topped with cilantro if you have some.

image

Today I found this lovely Naan bread in store, I heated it up in the oven and sliced it up. It was great for dipping. Rice would also be good for this, as it’s nice and saucy.

image

For a cozy night on the couch, watching one of my favourite rom-coms, Notting Hill, eating and dipping the Naan, this was perfection. Thank you for the inspiration Pink Waders!

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

