Vegan Pulled Pork Sliders

Over the past months I have been watching lots of vegan YouTube cooking videos and a recurring trend has been using Jackfruit as a substitute for pulled pork.  I love a good pulled pork sandwich! Spicy, saucy tender meat topped with tangy crisp coleslaw on a fresh roll is one of my favourite lunches.  Since we have stopped eating pork I have naturally been intrigued by the is jackfruit recipe – intrigued but sceptical!

My first hurdle was finding jackfruit.  I live in a town of about 50k people and we have 3 large grocery stores and 1 large specialty ‘health food’ grocer.   None of these carried jackfruit or were able to order it in for me.  I turned to Amazon, but they were sold out.  Marmalade offered to bring me some from Calgary on her next visit but then I found some in Superstore in a nearby city.  Jackfruit comes packed in either water, syrup or brine.  My store didn’t have the water packed so I settled for brined and gave it a thorough rinse before cooking.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Jackfruit (in water or brine)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp water

Once you have rinsed the jackfruit trim off a little bit of of the core of each piece.


Melt the coconut oil in a sauté pan on medium heat.  Add the jackfruit and cook for 2 minutes.  Add 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp garlic powder.  If you used jackfruit packed in water you should add a pinch of salt here.  Cook jackfruit for another 3-5 minutes stirring occasionally.


Mix the rest of the spices and remaining ingredients (except corn start and water) together in a bowl.

Add this mixture to the pan with the jackfruit and bring to a light boil.  Cook this mixture for another 3 minutes, stirring frequently.  Mix the corn starch and water together and add to the pan.  Stir until thickened and reduce heat. Using two forks break up the pieces of jackfruit.  I found a combination of shredding the larger pieces and pressing the smaller ones with the back of a fork will make this process easy.


You will be amazed at the texture and taste of this jackfruit, it definitely satisfied my craving for pulled pork.  I served it as sliders with coleslaw on top.  Both my meat-loving husband and I give these two thumbs up!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Pulled Pork Sliders

Leave a Reply

