Herbed Feta Dip

Dips are one of the best things in the world. Other than eating it with a spoon, it can be used for veggies, chips, and as a spread for sandwiches, wraps, etc. I always have some kind of dip in my fridge, and I am not ashamed that I own some Epicure dip mixes, for when the want is there but the energy is not.

This feta dip is my all time favourite dip. It’s salty, creamy and with a hint of brininess. In the winter I will use dried oregano and fresh parsley, in the summer I have an abundance of fresh oregano in my garden. The dip needs a few hours in the fridge to let the garlic mellow. Feel free to use your favourite feta, I am obsessed with the Macedonia Feta from Kalamata Grocery store in Calgary. I mash some of it into the dip, but am sure to leave some chunks of it as well.

You can garnish your dip with a sprinkle of herbs, my photos were taken when we had already started eating it (we just couldn’t wait!). Make this dip for your next Greek night, have it with souvlaki and pita, or simply serve with veggies. Homemade pita chips should be made almost exclusively for this dip.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup EACH light sour cream & light mayo OR 1/3 cup each sour cream, mayo and Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh oregano (or 1/2 tsp/2 mL dried)
  • clove garlic – grated with a microplane so there are no pieces
  • dash hot pepper sauce (I used Sriracha)

In a bowl, mix together sour cream and mayonnaise. Add in the parsley, oregano, garlic and hot pepper sauce. Now stir in the feta cheese, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

image

Leave a Reply

