Lemon Pickled Beans

Last week I came home with a surplus of beans from the farmer’s market when I misread cups for pounds in my bean salad recipe. With extra beans on hand I looked for another canning recipe, and remembered some lemon pickled beans PW gifted me a few years ago. 

The recipe I used came from one of my canning books, “Put A Lid on It! Small-Batch Preserving Year Round” by Ellie Topp and Margaret Howard 2003. Coincidentally, PW bought me this book as a gift many years ago. So it was meant to be. 

To make pickled beans you need to have 2 things: a love of the smell of vinegar and heat proof fingertips. As you will be putting hot beans into hot jars while inhaling the hot vinegar mixture.

First let your kitten help you chop beans. Depending on what size jars you want to use, cut a bean to fit the jar. Then use it as a measure against the other beans. I also made 2 jars that included all the pieces I cut off, that will be perfect for adding to salads etc. 


Next prepare your canner, jars & and lids. 


When making a small batch recipe I put my lids in with the jars. Then get your vinegar mixture going, as you will be cooking your beans in there. 


What you will need:

  • 1 pound each green and yellow beans
  • 2 1/2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cups water 
  • 1 TB pickling salt
  • 1 TB granulated sugar
  • 1 TB pickling spice
  • A strip of lemon rind for each jar

Combine everything but the beans and lemon rind. Bring to a boil. Add beans, cover and return to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Remove and drain, reserving vinegar mixture. 


Stuff the jars with beans, add the lemon rind. 

Pour in vinegar, remove air bubbles. Wipe rims, add lids and process for 10 minutes plus altitude adjustment. 

They sure look pretty! Can’t wait to try them. I will let them pickle for a few weeks first. These are delicious on a platter, with sandwiches or to use in salads or even drinks (Caesar’s or bloody Mary’s). 

2 thoughts on “Lemon Pickled Beans

Leave a Reply

