Pancakes (with non-dairy buttermilk)

I have been craving pancakes since I read Marmalade’s post about her buttermilk pancake recipe.  I thought I would try and create an egg and dairy free version.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp raw sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I used cashew)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil

Directions:

Add the lemon juice to the milk, stir and set aside for 5 minutes

Mix all the dry ingredients together and make a well in the centre.  Add the coconut oil to the milk mixture and stir.  Add your wet ingredients to the dry and srir until combined (a few lumps are fine).  

Cook on a non-stick griddle.  I found these work best if the pancakes are made small to medium size.

I served them with the vegan butter I posted about earlier, maple syrup and a quick blueberry sauce (I cooked fresh blueberries with a little bit of water and sugar until it formed a sauce).


These pancakes were delicious!  They were fluffy and had that distinctive tang that makes buttermilk pancakes so good!

One thought on “Pancakes (with non-dairy buttermilk)

Leave a Reply

