Marinated Bean Salad

This salad is similar to the one you might buy at the deli counter. It is simple to make, all the ingredients are pantry staples. The only secret is to make it at least a day in advance so that the flavours can blend and the onion can ‘cook’ in the acid. It tastes horrible if you try and eat it right away!

Also, you have to be good at opening cans. I am not, so I have an electric can opener. That’s right. I bake my own bread, make my own jam, but have trouble opening cans.

image

This recipe makes a really big batch, but the salad will last for weeks in the fridge.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup oil (use your favourite, I used avocado oil)
  • 1/3 cup vinegar (again use your favourite, I used white wine vinegar)
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 can yellow wax beans
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 can green beans

note: you can substitute beans with any other kind of bean. I use whatever is on hand, and often use the cans with a variety/medley of mixed beans.

Drain and rinse the beans. Mix the first 5 ingredients in a large bowl.  Now add all the beans. Stir gently. Refrigerate. Stir at least 1-2 times a day (I put it in a Tupperware and give it a shake whenever I open the fridge).

This is a great addition to a picnic, a BBQ supper or even a quick snack from the fridge.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

