Grenadella (Passion fruit) Mousse

In South Africa we have a famous dessert called a grenadella tert (tart). I decided to take this dessert, adjust it a little, leave out the crust and make it in individual servings. This is my favourite way to make dessert when entertaining, because I can make it ahead, then top with some whipped cream and serve. No slicing, passing plates around, etc.

The hardest part of this recipe is getting your hands on some passion fruit pulp. I buy canned from the import store, you can use fresh (make sure your fruit is ripe), or try and make this dessert with another fruit. Just adjust the flavour of yogurt, and jelly if you can, and top with extra fruit. I have made this with raspberries, using raspberry yogurt, jelly, and topping with fresh berries. Delicious. (You will notice I say jelly, not jello. Jello is a brand name in North America, everywhere else it’s called jelly).

image

This is the tin I use. It’s little but packs a punch.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package lemon jelly (I only had orange, so that’s what I used, please use lemon, it tastes even better!)
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 2 small containers of yogurt in the flavour you are making (I used greek passionfruit yogurt) – if you want to kick this up a notch, whip up some cream and fold it in instead of the yogurt for an even fluffier dessert
  • 1 can of condensed milk
  • 1 lemon – zested and juiced
  • 1 tin of grenadella/passion fruit pulp (You can buy a second tin and scatter some pulp over top)

image

Mix the jelly powder with the boiling water until dissolved. Add the lemon juice & zest. Add in the condensed milk. Whisk well. Now add in the yogurt, and lastly the pulp (the seeds are edible!). Whisk until smooth, pour into containers. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

 

I made these the night before, but they just need to set in the fridge – minimum an hour. They made 4 good sized servings, you can also make this in wine glasses to get 6-8 smaller servings. Serve with fruit.

image

This is a light and refreshing dessert after a heavy meal. Hope you will enjoy!

One thought on “Grenadella (Passion fruit) Mousse

  1. That looks soooo good! I think I could sub coconut yogurt but not sure how I could replace the condensed milk?? If you happen to be out shopping before you come visit could you add a tin of passion fruit to my list???

    Like

Leave a Reply

