Pummus (Hummus with a twist)

I do love hummus. All kinds. A friend of mine even threw roasted beets in her hummus once and made an incredible pink hummus. I like to sometimes add olives into it as well, or roasted red peppers. The sky is the limit.

But I bet you’ve never had a hummus made with peanut butter! The reason I tried this is that I dislike tahini – it smells weird and often goes bad in my fridge. Peanut butter I always have on hand. Try it, you just might love it!

  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 can of chickpeas – drained and rinsed
  • 2 lemons – juiced (less if using bottled juice)
  • 1/4 cup or so of water
  • 2 TB of natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp good quality cumin
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp sea salt (start with half and then taste)
  • 1 tsp sriracha or your favourite hot sauce
  • olive oil to drizzle in – I used about 3 TB…

image

I like an incredibly smooth hummus. So I throw all the ingredients into my vitamix and blend away, drizzling the olive oil in as I go. If you like a chunkier version, make sure to mince your garlic and use a food processor. Let me know what you think!

image

2 thoughts on “Pummus (Hummus with a twist)

Leave a Reply

