Vanilla Fudge

I have made this vanilla fudge since I was a little girl. Back then I made it in the microwave, and eventually graduated to making it on the stove. I make this twice or so a year – it makes a really big batch and is super sweet. It’s great for gifting and lasts forever in the fridge.

To highlight the ‘laugh’ part of the blog… I made fudge on Friday, as a request from my husband for us to pack on our road trip out to BC (going to visit Pink Waders! yay!). So I made it, it tasted delicious, but it would not set (that’s not happened before…). So Saturday I decided to scrape the fudge into a large measuring cup and microwave. Again, it would not set. So on Sunday, I finally scraped it back into my pot, stuck in the candy thermometer and boiled until soft ball stage. It set. It finally set. In the process though I broke my favourite spatula. RIP whit-ie. You were my favourite.

Above: the third boil. When in doubt use your thermometer… I think the problem was that it was my first time making the fudge since I got my new set of pots and pans. I had to relearn apparently…

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup or light corn syrup
  • 4 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

image

Combine everything (except vanilla) in a large pot. Boil (about 20 minutes) and stir occasionally until candy thermometer reads ‘soft ball stage’. Take off heat. Pour in vanilla. Beat with a wooden spoon for about 5 minutes. Until it starts to thicken slightly. Or your arms feel like they want to fall off. Pour into lined or greased (I use cooking spray on foil) dish or dishes. Let cool and set about an hour, cut into squares, store in fridge.

Third time’s the charm…

RIP

image

Leave a Reply

