Quinoa Sushi

I love sushi!  Living on Vancouver Island means fresh seafood is easy to get and reasonably priced.  Since moving to a mostly plant-based diet the only exception I have made is for fresh local seafood, most of which we catch ourselves.  

I have been eating more vegetarian sushi lately, but found it takes much more to fill me up when the protein from the seafood is eliminated.  I thought I would try and make a quinoa sushi instead of using rice.  The result was a delicious roll that was filling and healthy!  Success!!! 

Method:

It took me a few tries to get the quinoa to behave like sticky sushi rice.  

Place 1 cup of quinoa and 1.5 cups of water in a small pot. Set to high heat, stirring occasionally until it reaches a boil. Turn the burner to low, cover and let cook for 10-15 minutes.

While the quinoa cooks, combine 1/3 cup of rice vinegar, 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp of salt.  In the microwave or on the stove top, heat and stir this mixture until the sugar and salt are dissolved. Set aside to cool.  Whenthe quinoa is cooked, use a wooden spoon to scoop it into a plastic or wooden bowl (do not use a metal bowl, it does not react well to the vinegar). Pour the vinegar mixture over the quinoa and gently combine. Allow the quinoa to cool to room temperature before using to fill sushi.

Now that you have the quinoa ready, you can assemble your sushi rolls with whatever you like as fillings.  Tonight I used avocado and cucumber.  My husband bought me this amazing Easy Sushi Roller  which makes assembling the roller a breeze!

I made a quick spicy mayo to complete the rolls, and dinner was ready.

Spicy Mayo:

  • 3 tbsp vegan mayo
  • 3 tsp sriracha 
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

One thought on “Quinoa Sushi

Leave a Reply

