Braised Lamb Stew with Apricots

This stew is fully my own creation. It is not quite a traditional South African stew (or bredie), not quite a curry (no ginger, big amounts of curry, cilantro, or coconut milk etc.). It contains my favourite flavours, right down to the apricots. It is comfort food to me. Served with rice, I could eat this every day. Especially those yellow tinged potatoes. 

The quantities are not exact, as it depends on your ingredients.  I use more vegetables than meat, with big chunks of carrot and potato. My spices are fresh and strong, my chutney homemade, and I don’t use measuring spoons when cooking. So let your tastebuds be your guide. And get that big Dutch oven pot on the stove. 

  • Lamb stew meat – about 500 grams – local, grass fed is best – we bought an entire lamb from a local farmer, and the meat is lean & sweet
  • Drizzle of olive oil in the pot for searing the meat
  • Salt & pepper – season the meat, and then towards the end again as needed
  • Onion – 1 chopped
  • Garlic – 2-3 cloves or 1/2 tsp dried ( I used roasted garlic powder)
  • Spices – curry (1 TB), turmeric (1 tsp), coriander (1 tsp), cumin (1/2 tsp)
  • Bay leaf – 1 or 2
  • Can of diced tomatoes (large can – undrained)
  • W-sauce (2 TB)
  • Chicken broth concentrate (1 TB)
  • Brown sugar (1 TB)
  • Chutney – 1/4 cup, I use smooth peach or apricot
  • Dried apricots – a handful
  • Peeled, diced, potatoes & carrots
  • Extra water to cover vegetables


Preheat the oven to 350F. Get your pot nice and hot and sear the meat. I do my chopping while this goes on. Then remove the meat and cook the onions. Scrape up the brown bits. Add in the spices, then deglaze the pot with the tomatoes and their liquid. Add in the rest of the ingredients and bring to a simmer.  Add the lamb back in. Pop on the lid and put the pot in the oven. After an hour turn the oven down to 295F. Let it braise for a few hours, then take it out, stir, taste. At this point I added more water and left the lid off for another hour. This let it thicken up on its own. I then put the lid back on and left it on the counter to rest while I made some rice. A basmati rice is a good compliment to this stew. And whoever gets the bay leaf has to do the dishes!

Leave a Reply

