Chickpea ‘Tuna’ Salad

This is one of our favourite lunches. I made this for a lake picnic when my co-blogger and her hubby came to visit this summer and it was a hit!

The recipe is so simple and uses ingredients that I always have on hand.  

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup mayo (I used veganaise)
  • 1 tsp salt 
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried dill
  • 1/4 cup chopped dill pickle
  • 2 tbsp pickle juice
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard 

Directions:

  • Mash the chickpeas in a large bowl – texture will be chunky but there should not me many whole beans
  • Add all of the other ingredients and mix together well

The taste and texture of this is so similar to tuna that I fooled my husband the first time I made it.  It’s a great, tasty, protein packed lunch!

2 thoughts on “Chickpea ‘Tuna’ Salad

  1. I want to try and make these with similar flavours I put in my tuna sandwiches – such as dijon, green onions etc. And try curry/chutney ones too. Yours were so delicious, especially on the bread/thin buns you used… what were they again?

    Like

Leave a Reply

