Mandarin Orange Coffee Cake

This is another old fashioned recipe for a delicately tasting cake, perfect for breakfast or coffee time. I think it would pair well with tea as well. It is very suitable for Christmas time, and easy to make. (You can add an optional 1/4 cup of your favourite chopped nuts to the topping.) Normally I would make this with a hand mixer as my stand mixer is way too big for such a small recipe (I have the honking big KA Professional 6), but thanks to Pink Waders, I found a mini bowl and paddle that fits my big mixer. I am ecstatic! So not only could I make the batter in the mini bowl (gasp!) but I could make the topping in there too. Merry Christmas everyone!

Below is a side by side of my regular bowl and the new mini bowl. So shiny.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder (a lot, I know!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I used a 1/4 as I use salted butter)
  • 6 TB butter, cubed
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Top with 1 can of mandarin orange segments, drained

Topping

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 TB flour
  • 2 TB butter
  • 1 tsp grated orange peel (I used the peel of 2 clementines, use whatever type of orange you have around)

Preheat oven to 350F.

I usually make my coffee cakes backwards so I can re-use the bowl. So I make the topping first, by mixing all the ingredients together in my mini bowl, then set it aside and proceed with the batter. Pictured below is the topping. And my shiny new mini bowl!

img_1657

Next, for the batter, combine the dry ingredients, then add in the butter until it crumbles (kind of like making scones or biscuits). While this is mixing, whisk together the milk, egg and vanilla. Pour this in. Mix, and scrape the sides of your bowl. Batter below.

img_1658

Using a 9 inch square pan, give a spray with cooking spray, and scrape in your batter. Arrange the mandarin slices on top. Sprinkle with the topping.

Bake for 40 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean and the edges are brown.

img_1659

Cool for a few minutes, then cut into squares. Once again, your home will smell amazing.

img_1660

One thought on “Mandarin Orange Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

