Raspberry Sweet Rolls

I found a vintage (in my opinion anyways) Pillsbury booklet of breads – both yeast bread and quick breads- at the humane society book sale last year. I have really enjoyed baking my way through it, with my husband pointing at pictures exclaiming ‘make that one next!’. So far I have made loaves of buttermilk bread, these sweet rolls and I have an orange coffee cake in the oven right now. I cannot find these recipes online so I wanted to do some blog posts about them.

Having just survived the polar vortex here in Calgary, we have been staying in, watching Christmas movies, and I have been baking away. On Sunday we had good friends M&J over for brunch, and I decided to make these sweet rolls with my homemade jam. It was a hit! This recipe can easily be doubled, and I made the dough the night before, then sprayed a plastic bag with cooking spray, popped in the dough, squeezed out the air and put it in the fridge. The next morning I let it warm up on the counter for a few minutes and continued the recipe.

As a note, you may be tempted to leave out the glaze, but don’t!!! It really makes the roll. Use any jam you want of course, I use a triple berry jam I made this summer.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (plus more for kneading/etc.) flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast (or 1 package)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 egg

Topping

  • about 1/4 cup of jam (I put about 1 tsp on each roll)
  • more melted butter for brushing the rolls

Glaze

  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 1 – 2 TB milk

Go ahead and make a yeast dough as normal with the ingredients – I mix the dry, mix the wet and stir together, then knead as usual. You can pop this into your bread machine, or if doing this with a stand mixer, follow it’s instructions. Add flour as needed to make a nice, smooth ball of dough. After its first rise of about an hour, punch down, and either refrigerate or continue the recipe.

Once you have your ball of dough ready to go, divide into 12. I shaped mine into a square and used a pizza cutter to make 12 pieces. Roll the pieces into ropes, about 15 inches long. Loosely coil each rope, pinching and tucking the end underneath. Place on a greased cookie sheet. Cover and let these rise about 20 minutes. Pictured below are my rolls after the rise.

img_1627

Preheat oven to 350 F. Brush the rolls with melted butter. With your fingers, make a thumb sized dent in the centre of each roll. Add in some jam. I recommend under filling rather than over filling. You can always pop a little more jam on there when it comes out of the oven.

img_1628

Bake for about 15 minutes until golden brown. Immediately brush again with melted butter, top up with jam if  necessary and let cool.

img_1629

When cooled (don’t do this while warm!) mix together your glaze and drizzle on the rolls. Let set.

img_1638

Serve to your guests. This is an impressive looking roll  so get ready for compliments! And for them disappearing before you can even get a picture of them on a serving plate…

img_1632

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

