Potato Skins

I have so many posts to catch up on!  My first holiday season as a vegan was not without challenges but overall was a success.  I threw a cocktail party and my guests didn’t seem to miss the meat and dairy too much.  Navigating a fancy gala Christmas party was much harder (good thing I ate before we went). I also prepared some fun dishes to take to my family Christmas dinner.  I’ll post these recipes and pictures over the next few days.  

The first recipe was one I concocted for my husband and I as we watched our favourite Christmas movies – Love Actually, Elf and Four Christmases.

Potato Skins

  1. Bake the potatoes in the oven, cut into wedges and scoop out most of the potato.
  2. Place wedges onto a cookie sheet, brush lightly with oil and sprinkle on salt and pepper.
  3. Broil for 5 minutes until potatoes begin to crisp. 
  4. Remove from oven and sprinkle on vegan cheese (we love Daiya for anything needing to be melted – we do not love it cold!!) and coconut bacon.
  5. Broil for another 3-5 minutes until cheese is melted.
  6. Garnish with cashew cream and chives.
  7. Chow down guilt free!!!

Leave a Reply

