Spicy Ramen

I have been sick with a cold for the past two weeks.  The cold is almost gone but I have been left with a dry cough and a nasty case of laryngitis.  I did a 3 day juice cleanse to try and push the remnants of the bug out of my system.  I am feeling better but still have no voice.

This juice is cucumber, apple, celery, ginger, turmeric, mint, cilantro, parsley, lemon, jalapeño, spinach and kale

I decided to end the cleanse with a veggie filled bowl of ramen noodles with a spicy broth – soothing to my throat and an easy transition from juicing.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 4-6 sliced mushrooms
  • 1 sliced carrot
  • 1 sliced leek
  • 1/2 cup chopped cabbage
  • 2 baby bok choi
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tbsp tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • Sriraccha to taste (I used 1 tbsp)
  • 3 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 package of ramen (throw out the spice package)

Method:

  • Sauté the leeks, mushrooms, and carrots in coconut oil for 4-5 minutes.
  • Add cabbage and garlic and sauté for 3-4 minutes.  
  • Add tamari, Sriraccha and sesame oil  and toss to coat the veggies.
  • Add vegetable broth and bring to a simmer.
  • Add ramen noodles – submerge in the broth and cook 3-5 minutes until soft and you are able to separate the noodles.
  • Add the kale and toss until wilted – don’t overcook the veggies!
  • Serve!

It may have been psychological but I felt myself feeling better with every spoonful of this soup!

Leave a Reply

