Potstickers

These are by no means authentic potstickers, but they are a bit of a healthier option than the restaurant ones. And I will eat a potsticker in any form. I make them with wonton wrappers (which are square vs. dumpling wrappers that are round) so they do look a bit different. love having these regularly, so I spend an hour or so and make a huge batch of them, portion them off and freeze.  (Freeze flat on a cookie sheet, then put in freezer bags and label). I even freeze little bags of dipping sauce. Sometimes my husband will join in and we will chat and fold, I find it quite relaxing. You can of course half the recipe, but I find I might as well keep going until the entire package of wonton wrappers are used up. This will make approx. 60 pot stickers.

***If you want to do this with kiddos, precook the meat so there’s no risk of them ‘accidentally’ eating raw meat. Try the basic triangle and rectangle shapes with them.

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp of vegetable or stir fry oil
  • 4 cups of finely chopped cabbage (I use the coleslaw mix that comes shredded)
  • 1 pound ground meat – I like ground pork, but chicken works too, or try chopped up shrimp (use the food processor to grind it down a bit), or tofu, or more veggies.
  • 2/3 cups minced green onions
  • 2 TB minced ginger (I grate it with my microplane)
  • 1 TB minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 egg whites
  • wonton wrappers

For folding – cornstarch and water

For cooking – oil and water

img_1888

Start by heating up the oil in a large pan & sautéing the cabbage for about 10 minutes. You want it to cook down. Then put it in a bowl to cool.

Add to the bowl the rest of the ingredients (except the wrappers) and mix. A fork worked really well for me.

Get ready a cookie sheet sprinkled with cornstarch for the potstickers (so they don’t stick). Once done a sheet, cover with a kitchen towel so they don’t dry out. Cover the wrappers with a wet cloth (or paper towel) so they don’t dry out.

img_1684

For folding… with the square wrappers I do 3 basic shapes – the triangle, the rectangle, and my favourite, the parcel – bringing together all 4 corners. You want to put about a tablespoon of filling in each wrapper, and moisten the edges with water (just dip your finger in a bowl of water). This will help them seal. I work on a SILPAT so nothing sticks and cleanup is easy.

img_1686

Don’t over fill as they won’t hold together.

img_1687

My favourite is the little parcels so I did most of them that way…

img_1688

Pop these sheets straight into the freezer if freezing, they can be cooked from frozen. Label well, and add in dipping sauce if you like.

img_1889

For cooking – use a non stick pan, add in 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil. Arrange them in a single layer, and cook over medium heat until they brown on the bottom (I lift and check). Add 1/2 cup of water to the skillet, cover, and cook until liquid is absorbed.

Dipping sauce (you can use any sauce you love, ponzu, hoisin, plum or even peanut sauce – I like this one)

  • 6 TB soya sauce (low sodium works well here)
  • 3 TB rice vinegar
  • 1 TB sesame oil
  • 1 TB minced ginger (grated again)
  • The green parts of a green onion, minced

Just whisk these all together & enjoy! This made enough for eating & I froze 3 small baggies of sauce with the potstickers.

Transfer to serving platter. Yummy!!!!!!!

img_1694

 

Leave a Reply

