South African Curried Lamb Skewers with Apricots (Sosaties)

We have a local butcher shop that makes the best lamb skewers, and I have been on a quest to recreate them at home. Since we buy a lamb every year from a local farmer, I have no reason to buy lamb skewers – I have a freezer full of lamb! As well, we love the apricots in the skewers but find there are not enough of them. Lastly, we don’t like the peppers in there, so why not replace with more apricots? Making them at home is worth it for so many reasons, and after many trials, I have finally made a batch that is perfect!

For the lamb: I used a leg of lamb with a bone in – I trimmed off the meat and cubed it. I saved the bones for a stew.  Use any lamb meat you like – if using stew meat you can marinate it a bit longer to tenderize it. If you don’t like lamb, try pork tenderloin for this recipe.

For the marinade, combine the following ingredients in a large ziplock bag, then add the meat. Turn in the fridge once or twice. I recommend a bag because everything this marinade touches turns yellow! This marinade can be halved easily, and used marinade discarded in the bag after.

6 tablespoons of smooth apricot jam
2 TB red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp curry powder (mild, medium or hot  – the choice is yours)
2 tsp turmeric
2 Tbsp brown sugar
3 crushed bay leaves (I just crumbled the dried ones by hand)
sea salt
fresh ground pepper

Marinate the meat for at least 24 hours. When ready to skewer, preheat your BBQ. You can skewer these with onions, red/green peppers as well. I only used dried apricots. I get the ones from Costco, they are nice and plump. If yours are quite dry, soak them in water for a bit. We use metal skewers – I like how they heat up, if using bamboo make sure to pre-soak them. Discard any bits of bay leaf you come across.

IMG_3966

BBQ over medium heat for 12 minutes turning frequently (make sure you grease the grills well). This will depend on your BBQ, as well as how big your cubes of lamb are. We then cover them with foil for a few minutes, and they turn out a perfect light pink in the middle.

IMG_3967

Aren’t they gorgeous?

Serve with rice or a grain salad. I made basmati rice with fresh herbs, and my husband grilled up his famous zucchini slices.

IMG_3970

(In the above photo I had cooked down the leftover marinade with some chicken broth to use as a sauce. The meat was so juicy and did not need it – I would not do this again in the future).

Leave a Reply

