Rhubarb Muffins

It’s Spring in Calgary and my garden is overflowing with rhubarb. I don’t water it, I planted it upside down, yet it showers me with an abundance of pinkish green stalks. As a bewildered newlywed over 15 years ago – I cooked and baked maybe a total of 10 items – my close friend and matron of honour Lisa generously shared her rhubarb muffin recipe. Over the years I have made small adjustments to it but I still pull out her recipe card every time. Feel free to double the recipe, this one makes 8 large muffins. I use the smaller, thinner stalks for muffins and make compotes out of the bigger ones. 


Ingredients 

  • 1/4 cup of melted butter
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp each baking soda, baking powder & salt
  • 1 cup finely chopped rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Topping

  • 1 TB brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp good cinnamon 

Mix together the butter, buttermilk, egg & vanilla. In another bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, soda & salt. Add the nuts & rhubarb to the dry ingredients. Toss to coat with flour. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, stir until just mixed. 

Fill greased muffin liners in a muffin baking tray. Mix the topping ingredients and sprinkle over top. Bake at 375F (or convect at 350F) for 20-25 minutes. They are done when they bounce back after touching. 


I still have that recipe card!

Leave a Reply

