Homemade Yogurt

I don’t even know why I started making my own yogurt, but at some point I did. It certainly was a great way for me to use my home canning – jams and preserves – with the lovely creamy yogurt. I have a little yogurt making machine that includes the little glass jars and lids, but you don’t need a machine – you can make your own yogurt in the oven, even the slow cooker. This post will deal with making yogurt using a yogurt maker. You can get one on Amazon, Costco online, even redeem airmails for one. They are not expensive, and if it is something you do regularly, totally worth the price.

This recipe yields a nice plain yogurt, if you like greek yogurt, you can strain the yogurt in the fridge over a colander lined with cheesecloth or coffee filters. Strain it until it is as thick as you like, and don’t throw out the whey! Use it instead of water when baking bread. I usually turn half my batch into Greek yogurt, but I do notice that the regular yogurt thickens up a good amount the longer it stays in the fridge.

One last note, you can use whichever kind of milk you would like, fat % wise. We use 2% at home, and it’s a nice and creamy yogurt. If you are vegan and want to use a coconut or almond milk, make sure to use an appropriate starter as well.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups of milk (Fat free, 1%, 2% or full fat)
  • 1/2 cup of starter yogurt

Directions:

Take the starter yogurt out of the refrigerator so it reaches room temperature. I used up the last bit of a store bought yogurt I had. You can also buy one of those mini cups of yogurt – just make sure it is plain. Also, start your yogurt maker so it has time to pre-heat.

Pour milk into a pot. Bring milk to 180 degrees (I used a candy thermometer for this) & skim the skin off of the milk if one forms.

 

Pour the milk into a separate container and let cool to around 100 degrees. This takes a little while – again I stuck the thermometer in, and sat there reading my book. When ready, whisk in the starter yogurt.

IMG_4044

 

Pour this mixture into the jars – leaving some headspace.

IMG_4045

Set your yogurt maker timer to 11 hours. This is great to do over night, that way you can pop the lids on in the morning and stick the yogurt in the fridge. Before using, give it a good stir.

IMG_4061

This plain yogurt can be used for dips, sauces, etc. My husband who is not the biggest fan of plain yogurt from the store, loves the homemade one. It is a fantastic breakfast with some fruit and granola.

Below is the plain yogurt, topped with rhubarb compote & granola.

Rhubarb Compote: In a pan on the stove over medium low heat, combine chopped rhubarb with sugar. (Pop the lid on for a minute or two to help the rhubarb release its liquid). I use approx. heaping 2 cups of rhubarb to less than 1/2 cup of sugar – I start off with 1/4 cup and add more if needed. It does not need a thickener, and takes about 15 minutes. Cool in fridge. As a variation, add in some orange zest.

Granola: I make a variation of the ‘Oh She Glows’ recipe by Angela Liddon for granola clusters – using cashews, little bit of walnuts, oats, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, dried cranberries, coconut oil, maple syrup, salt, vanilla & cinnamon.

IMG_4065

Yum!!!

 

Leave a Reply

