Blondies

It is not often that I buy kitchen equipment, as I have a pretty well stocked kitchen. When I want/need something, I generally think about it for some time, read reviews, and decide if I can live without it or not. Once in a while, that process ends with a yes! This week, I was lucky enough to have my friend Annick (a great cook/baker herself) deliver a pampered chef brownie pan (a want), along with some colanders (those were a need). I have been giddy with excitement ever since to try it out. These blondies are my very first (of many) items baked in there, and it worked like a dream. If anyone else would like a pan, contact Annick! She’s great. Here’s her email: Annickstonge1979@gmail.com

Brownie pan tips: use non stick spray, wipe up excess. 1/8 cup measure was perfect for portioning batter in there (same as 2 TB). You can also use regular muffin liners. Start baking time at 20 minutes, check from there. I convected at 325F – it seemed the perfect temperature.  And as always with brownies, under-bake them slightly.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup add in of your choice (I recommend butterscotch chips, today I used SKOR bits. Chocolate chips would be good too, or even walnuts.)

Directions:

Cream butter and sugars. Add egg and vanilla. Mix dry ingredients, add them in.

IMG_4149

Mix well, then start adding in your add-ins. (Too much add in that sentence…) I normally would add butterscotch chips to this, but as I used them all up baking cookies a week or so ago, I looked in my bin for inspiration. SKOR bits!!! (Those are hard toffee bits). I went a bit overboard at bulk barn apparently.

IMG_4150

Add in about 1/2 cup, stir to combine. Make sure to eat a few to test their freshness.

Spray your pan, wipe out excess. Divide batter in the cups, press down to evenly distribute with your fingers.

Bake/convect at 325 F for 21 minutes. They should start to brown but still look slightly under-baked in the middle. But not too much. Clear? I thought so.

IMG_4154

Slightly loosen blondies if needed, invert on parchment and baking rack, let cool. Or cool enough to eat one.

Yum!!! PS the batter is also delicious (if you use pasteurized eggs of course).

IMG_4160

Don’t mind me. I’ve had two already. Hope you make these and love them as much as we do.

IMG_4159

Leave a Reply

